Kovai Trip Books (Jan ’23)

I was taking West Coast express to Kovai and as I had some time to spare before my departure, I decided to spend it wisely (?) by visiting the Moore market!

The market is just a stroll away so it was very convenient (even with luggage) to visit. I enquired the stores for Tamil books and, after some search, I bought 3 books. Here it is…

Moore Market, Chennai

TIRUKKURAL
Books 1 and 3!
The book condition looks very good for a 60+ year old, isn’t it?

Porutpal (book 2) was missing, but I am glad I found these…

What is this?!

Grillparzers Dramen??
Yes, it a German book!
Franz Seraphicus Grillparzer (1791 – 1872) was an Austrianwriter who was considered to be the leading Austrian dramatist of the 19th century. His plays were and are frequently performed at the famous Burgtheater in Vienna. He also wrote the oration for Ludwig van Beethoven‘s funeral, as well as the epitaph for his friend Franz Schubert.
MDCXL = 1640
Well, thats how old I thought the book was,
but it seems it’s not 380 years old but just 120 years…
What a big letdown isn’t it?!

Books bought in Kovai

Here is the list:

  • Top Row (From left):
    • Marx and Engels’ Communist Manifesto (in Tamil, 1970s?)
    • Bharatiar Inkavitirattu (1959)
    • V.O.C. Suyasarithai (1966)
    • Tirupur Kumaran (1959)
    • சோவுலிஸ்ட்கட்சி’ மார்க்ஸிஸத்தை மறுக்கிறது (need to check the publication year)
  • Middle Row:
    • Annadurai 1858-1948 (1948)
    • Kirupanandha Variyar’s Murugan  (1960s?)
    • Viveka Chinthamani (1950s?)
    • Namkkal Kavignar’s Tamilthaen (1953)
    • Ma-se-Tung’s கலையும் இலக்கியமும் (translated by Mugavai Rajamanickam)
  • Bottom Row:
    • C.S.Rasappa’s Kanavu (1940?)
    • Periyar’s மொழியும் அறிவும் (1962?)
    • வீரபாண்டிய கட்டபொம்மன் (Movie Dialogues and songs) (1959?)
    • Bharathidasan’s தாய்மேல் ஆணை (1958)
    • Jayakanthan’s ஒரு பிரஜையின் குரல் (1975)

Namakkal Kavignar’s Varuvai Muruga


Sangakalam

Kazhagam editions,
published in the 1960s

East and West in Religion

1933 (first edition) with covers!!!
Why I say that is because to get old books (in the South India) in a good condition is hard and to find one with decent covers is even rarer!

Did you remember this?

A few months ago, I got the Vol 2, but this time I found the first two volumes of C.G.Rajan’s Jadagakanitham…!

Though the rare original boards were well rubbed and the binding loose, the books still contain a lot of interesting contents so I bought it…
Third edition (1940)
First edition (1936)

C.G. Rajan’s books seem to remind me to explore astrology a little deeper…

🤔

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started