My Last Book: ThiruArutpa…!


Who is Ramalinga Adigal/Swamigal?


திருவருட் பிரகாச வள்ளலார் என்று அழைக்கப்படும் இராமலிங்க அடிகளார் (Ramalinga Swamigal) (அக்டோபர் 51823 – சனவரி 301874) ஓர் ஆன்மீகவாதி ஆவார். இவர் சத்திய ஞான சபையை நிறுவியவர். “வாடிய பயிரைக் கண்டபோதெல்லாம், வாடினேன்” என்று பாடியவர் இவர். திருவருட்பிரகாச வள்ளலார் என்ற சிறப்பு பெயர் பெற்றவர்.


கடவுள் ஒருவரே என்ற கருத்தை வலியுறுத்தியவர்.



Here are some of his poems….


தெய்வமணி மாலை

சென்னைக் கந்தகோட்டம்

Padal: 2

பரம்ஏது வினைசெயும் பயன்ஏது பதிஏது
பசுஏது பாசம்ஏது
பத்திஏ தடைகின்ற முத்திர தருள்ஏது
பாவபுண் யங்கள்ஏது
வரம்ஏது தவம்ஏது விரதம்ஏ தொன்றும்இலை
மனம்விரும் புணவுண்டுநல்
வத்திரம் அணிந்துமட மாதர்தமை நாடிநறு
மலர்சூடி விளையாடிமேல்
கரமேவ விட்டுமுலை தொட்டுவாழ்ந் தவரொடு
கலந்துமகிழ் கின்றசுகமே
கண்கண்ட சுகம்இதே கைகண்ட பலன்எனும்
கயவரைக் கூடாதருள்
தரமேவு சென்னையில் கந்தகோட் டத்துள்வளர்
தலம்ஓங்கு கந்தவேளே
தண்முகத் துய்யமணி உண்முகச் சைவமணி
சண்முகத் தெய்வமணியே.


Padal: 5485

அகத்தே கறுத்துப் புறத்துவெளுத்
          திருந்த உலகர் அனைவரையும்
     சகத்தே திருந்திச் சன்மார்க்க
          சங்கத் தடைவித் திடஅவரும்
     இகத்தே பரத்தைப் பெற்றுமகிழ்ந்
          திடுதற் கென்றே எனைஇந்த
     உகத்தே இறைவன் வருவிக்க
          உற்றேன் அருளைப் பெற்றேனே.


Sathya Ganana Sabai (சத்திய ஞான சபை)

Satyagnana Sabha (சத்ய ஞான சபை, Temple of Wisdom is a temple constructed (25.01.1872) by the saint Sri Raamalinga Swaamigal (Vallalaar) in the town of Vadalur in Cuddalore district, Tamil Nadu, India. It is an octagonal structure; the sanctum sanctorum of this temple is concealed from the main hall by seven curtains which are parted only on the Thai Poosam day. All the four towers of the Chidambaram Nataraajar temple are visible from the sabha.

Jothi in Thai Poosam day!

This book published in 1972 marking the 100th anniversary of Vallalar lighting the Arutperumjothi at The Satya Gnana Shabai, Vadalur…

The Arutperumjothi continues to shine and spread light majestically…

Uran Adigal’s (the editor’s) inscription to the previous owner (S.Ramasamy) on the front page…;
I was told Uran Adigal usually doesn’t sign books so S.Ramasamy must have been a scholar or a VIP

Coming to the story:

For a long time, I had been wanting to buy a good copy of Vallalar’s Thiruarutpa so when I saw two copies of Tiruarutpa (1928 and 1972 editions) available at one of the old books stores in Coimbatore’s Eswaran Kovil Street (near town hall), I connected with BT’s father to get his thoughts. Dr Thiyagarajan (BT’s father) suggested (no, he strongly advised me) to buy the rare 1972 edition as it is considered to be an authoritative edition!

On hearing his advise I wished to buy it but I was well over my books budget for the month, so I had to make a choice.

Should I wait till next month and try my luck of finding this book

or

Buy this book now and throw the towel?

After some reflection, on Mano’s approval, I made a choice...

I bought The book!!!!

(18th May 2022)


I can’t think of any better way of closing this chapter and starting a new one, afresh, …


Is this book going to my last book or The last book?

Only the time will tell...

One response to “My Last Book: ThiruArutpa…!”

  1. […] Dr. Thiyagrajan iyya often reminds me that this book is a treasure… My Last Book: ThiruArutpa…! (it was on Mano’s approval and on Prof.Thiyagarajan’s advise I started go buy books […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started